Our Story



We are a church rich in history and faithfulness. The Cave Spring Church was formally organized in 1854 near the intersection of McVitty and Old Cave Spring Roads. After 100 years had passed the congregation moved to our current location on Hazel Drive.

During the early 1990s the congregation took a leap of faith and began another construction project to accommodate its growing membership. On Palm Sunday, 1998, Bishop Joe E. Pennel, Jr. consecrated our current 550-seat sanctuary. In addition to the beautiful new sanctuary, classrooms and support facilities were also added.

Today, our church family continues to grow each day as we continue to reach out to all our neighbors, both in the Cave Spring area and greater Roanoke, just as we have done for generations. Enduring, growing, and praising God for over 160 years, our Methodist forefathers would be proud of the church family we have become. God is always with us and guiding us into the next 100 years.


Here at Cave Spring UMC, we have four core goals that we strive towards every day. We uphold these goals to the highest, not just for our members but for our whole community.

We will be a church that celebrates hospitality and welcomes those within our walls and beyond.

We will be a church that provides avenues of connection to authentic relationships for ALL people.

We will be a church that cultivates equipped followers who minister daily.

We will be a church that wants to serve the many faces of Jesus and actively participates in serving the worldwide church with our neighbors near and far.


Our ministry at Cave Spring UMC is focused on these three anchors:

To experience God through worship and fellowship

To grow together by connecting and building faithful relationships

To serve others through service and mission to others



11 + 1 =


4505 HAZEL DR.

Call Us

(540) 989-3673


Learn more about Cave Spring and our day-to-day activities on our social media pages.